ALL INDIA SPORTS COUNCIL OF THE DEAF

8, Northend Complex, Ramakrishna Ashram Marg, New Delhi - 110001

<u>6th NATIONAL DEAF BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP</u> <u>Tyndale Biscoe School, Sri Nagar</u>

PERFORMANCE – CUM – ACHIEVEMENT REPORT

The 6th National Deaf Basketball Championship has been held at Tyndale Biscoe School, Sri Nagar on 8th September 2011 in the valley of Jammu & Kashmir in the History of India. Sh. Madan Lal (I.A.S.), Chief Secretary, Govt. of Jammu & Kashmir and Sh. K. Rajandra, Addl. D.G.P of Jammu & Kashmir Police, were Chief Guests of Opening Ceremony. This National Event has been conducted for the first time in the history of Jammu & Kashmere under the auspicious of All India Sports Council of the Deaf which is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports. This Championship is hosted by All Jammu & Kashmir Sports Association of the Deaf which is affiliated to All India Sports Council of the Deaf. This Championship was held with surprising note that the total number of State participation has further increased from the previous years held in Jharkhand in 2010. welcome by J.K.S.C.D.

This Championship attracted with a wonderful record of 13 States Teams from all over India i.e. (1) Andhra Pradesh, (2) Delhi, (3) Haryana, (4) Karnataka, (5) Kerala, (6) Madhya Pradesh, (7) Maharashtra, (8) Pondichery, (9) Punjab, (10) Rajasthan, (11) Tamil Nadu, (12) Uttar Pradesh and (13) J & K. This tournament breaks the record of 4th National Deaf Basketball Championship, Ajmer (Rajasthan) in the No. of Deaf Basketball Teams.

The event was conducted in 2 (two) Pool i.e. Pool "A" & Pool "B" and Pool matches were conducted on Knock Out Basis.

Sr. No.	Pool "A"	Pool "B"
1	Tamil Nadu	Pondichery
2	Maharashtra	Kerala
3	Delhi	Andhra Pradesh
4	Uttar Pradesh	Punjab
5	Arunachal Pradesh	Jammu & Kashmir
6	Rajasthan	Madhya Pradesh
7	Haryana	Karnataka

The championship has went off well in peaceful atmosphere despite the reason being troubled valley. The players came forward from all state with brave and courage despite and ignored threats to show their national pride for the Nation. The Jammu & Kashmir Basketball Association has offered all possible assistance to AJKSA for smooth conduct of the Championship and their entire officials has participated and controlled the matches in a very professional and efficient manner.

After carefully watching each and every match of the championship, we are of the opinion that the future of Deaf Basketball in India is brighter and our players have the capability to achieve higher standards of the game. The standard of the play is improving day-by-day and this has already been demonstrated by our players for winning the medals in international and Asia Pacific competitions.

Now we are concentrating to tone up the playing method, skill and stamina to reach the top slot in international level through National Coaching Camps supported by Sports Authority of India.

It is very clear that championship has served its purpose for which it was organized i.e., to provide opportunity for participation in national level competition with high standards and also pride for India at Inter-National / Asia Pacific Level.

Sh. R. C. Chib, Sports Minister, Jammu & Kashmir was a Chief Guest in the closing ceremony and gave away the Medals, Trophies, Prizes and Certificates to the winners in a glittering closing ceremony held at 12.00 noon on Saturday, 10th September 2011 at the venue in the presence of Mr. E. K. Jose, G.S., A.I.S.C.D., Sh. R. C. Sathian, Executive Member, Karnataka, Mr. Rinku Singhal, Executive Member, Punjab and many other diginitaries from JK Government and Guest of Honours.

Jammu & Kashmir Sports Association of the Deaf has made elaborate and necessary arrangements for the competitions, stay and food for participants and officials. Mr. Rinku Singhal, Technical Director, Basketball Championship has controlled all the matches, work & procedure of this championship from time to time in efficient manner.

My sincere thanks goes to Mr. Rinku Singhal, Technical Director, 6th National Deaf Basketball Championship, Mr. Saleem Wani, G.S., J.K.S.C.D. & their Executive Board Members for their excellent co-operation and skilful handling of all disputes and made this event a grand success.

Sr.	Pool "A"	Score	Winner	Score	Winner	
No.	POOLA	Round	winner	Qurt. Final	wiillei	
1	Tamil Nadu	P _V o	Tamil Nadu	66		
2		Буе	Bye Tamil Nadu		Tamil Nadu (A	
3	Delhi	Walkover	Delhi	6	- 1)	
4	Arunachal Pradesh	warkover Deini		0		
5	Rajasthan	15	Daiasthan	42		
6	Uttar Pradesh	0	0 Rajasthan		Maharashtra	
7	Maharashtra	12	Maharashtra 44	(A - 2)		
8	Haryana	10	ivialia dSIILId	44		

Match Details

Sr.	Pool "B"	Score	Winner	Score	Winner
No.		Round		Qurt. Final	
1	Pondichery	D vo	Dondichory	41	
2		Вуе	Pondichery	41	Pondichery
3	Andhra Pradesh	11	Duniah	10	(B - 1)
4	Punjab	28	Punjab	10	
5	Karnataka	2	Kerala	21	
6	Kerala	51	Neidid	21	Kerala
7	Jammu & Kashmir	40	Jammu &		(B - 2)
8	Madhya Pradesh	6	Kashmir	14	. ,

Teem	Score	Winner	Score	Winner
Team	Semi Final	winner	Final	
Tamil Nadu (A – 1)	36	Tamil Nadu	r r	
Kerala (B – 2)	11	Tamil Nadu	55	Tamil Nadu
Pondichery (B - 1)	25	Dondichory	25	
Maharashtra (A - 2)	16	Pondichery 25		

Team (3 rd / 4 th)	Score	Winner
Kerala	8	Kerala wins as Maharashtra withdrew
Maharashtra	6	from the Match

FINAL RESULTS OF THE CHAMPIONSHIP

Champion: -			
Runner Up: -			
3 rd Place Team: -			
4 th Place Team: -			
5 th Place Team: -			
6 th Place Team: -			
7 th Place Team: -			
8 th Place Team: -			
9 th Place Team: -			
10 th Place Team: -			
11 th Place Team: -			
12 th Place Team: -			
13 th Place Team: -			

TAMIL NADU PONDICHERY KERALA MAHARASHTRA RAJASTHAN JAMMU & KASHMIR PUNJAB DELHI ANDHRA PRADESH HARYANA MADHYA PRADESH KARNATAKA UTTAR PRADESH

Scored by Basketball Players

Ranking Position	Total Scored by Player	Name	State
1	57	Krishan V.	Tamil Nadu
2	36	A. Anandharo	Pondichery
3	35	Venkateshan A.	Tamil Nadu
4	29	Vinodh Kumar V.	Tamil Nadu
5	29	Joby C. V.	Kerala
6	28	Majid Nazir	Jammu & Kashmir
7	24	Chetan V. Joshi	Maharashtra
8	21	Karam Singh	Rajasthan
9	20	Lijo Paul	Kerala
10	19	Sri Venkatesh R.	Tamil Nadu
11	18	Bipin T. B.	Kerala
12	17	R. Balaji	Pondichery
13	16	Nikhil Vyawahare	Maharashtra
14	16	Bunty Patel	Rajasthan
15	14	Laxman Davraya	Rajasthan

16	14	P. G. Balamurugan	Pondichery	
17	14	Shine Kumar	Kerala	
18	13	Mohamed Feroz M.	Tamil Nadu	
19	12	Manish Kumar Singh	Maharashtra	
20	12	Swapneel Phadke	Maharashtra	
21	12	Bazeeth A.	Pondichery	
22	12	Khalid Mehraj	Jammu & Kashmir	
23	11	Ch. Ravi Kumar	Andhra Pradesh	
24	10	Mandeep Singh	Punjab	
25	10	Amit Rouf	Jammu & Kashmir	
26	8	Harpreet Singh	Punjab	
27	8	Anand Pasalkar	Maharashtra	
28	8	Yogesh	Haryana	
29	8	Rajesh M.	Pondichery	
30	6	Balraj Singh Dhillon	Punjab	
31	6	Nipender Singh	Punjab	
32	6	Milind Kr. V. Sathe	Maharashtra	
33	6	Raj Kumar G.	Kerala	
34	4	Amandeep Singh	Punjab	
35	4	Akshay Kumar	Punjab	
36	4	Sivak Kumar C.	Tamil Nadu	
37	4	Nemi Chand	Rajasthan	
38	4	Sanjeev	Kerala	
39	4	Shivam Nair	Madhya Pradesh	
40	4	Riyaz An. Tramber	Jammu & Kashmir	
41	3	Ejaz Akhtar Khan Delhi		
42	3	Pawan Kumar Delhi		
43	2	Rajendra Kumar	Rajasthan	
44	2	Rahul	Haryana	
45	2	M. Dina Sankar	Pondichery	
46	2	S. Baskar	Pondichery	
47	2	Thanmai Bhari	Madhya Pradesh	
48	2	Shoaib Mohammad	Karnataka	

As per Report and Score Sheet given by Referee Committee, only 48 Players have been scored in this championship. On this report, I choose only 48 Players as Probable Players for Indian Deaf Basketball Team for any Inter-National / Asia Pacific Trip.

Rinku Singhal Member AISCD & Technical Director 6th Nation Deaf Baskeball Championship E.K. Jose Hony. General Secretary